Draw and stalemate (1/2 - 1/2 result) analysis

Questions and comments related to CCRL testing study
dbergan
Sign-up code: 10159

Draw and stalemate (1/2 - 1/2 result) analysis

Post by dbergan »

Hi,

I'm new to this site and would like someone's help navigating the ccrl games. What I'm looking for is a qualitative breakdown of all the 1/2 - 1/2 games the computer played. How many of them were White stalemating Black? How many were Black stalemating White? How many were draws by 3-move repetition? How many were 50-move draws?

And then I'd like to know what material each side had in these various draws... how many of the 50-move draws are king v king. How many are king + bishop v king, etc.

Does such a breakdown already exist? If not, does anyone know of any programs that could help? Is there a list of the FENs for the final game positions somewhere?

Thanks,
David
Adam Hair

Re: Draw and stalemate (1/2 - 1/2 result) analysis

Post by Adam Hair »

dbergan wrote:Hi,

I'm new to this site and would like someone's help navigating the ccrl games. What I'm looking for is a qualitative breakdown of all the 1/2 - 1/2 games the computer played. How many of them were White stalemating Black? How many were Black stalemating White? How many were draws by 3-move repetition? How many were 50-move draws?

And then I'd like to know what material each side had in these various draws... how many of the 50-move draws are king v king. How many are king + bishop v king, etc.

Does such a breakdown already exist? If not, does anyone know of any programs that could help? Is there a list of the FENs for the final game positions somewhere?

Thanks,
David
Hi David,

Normally I would produce that sort of data upon request, but I am busy with a project at this time. So, I will point you to the free tools that I would use to extract that data from the CCRL databases.