Clones?

Questions and comments related to CCRL testing study
Alan Hartley
Sign-up code: 10159

Clones?

Post by Alan Hartley »

Hi, I'm Alan--

I haven't been a particularly careful tester of engines in the last couple of years, but I'm still a fan of chess and of computer chess in particular. I'm no programmer either, so I don't have an educated opinion on the subject--I was wondering if anyone here has an opinion about the free engines at this site: http://www.cyclonechess.com/FireBird.htm --and about the various claims that 1) Firebird is 50 points stronger than Rybka(!!) and the opinion that seems to prevail at Playchess.com that firebird, ippolit, etc. are reverse-engineered clones.

My own machine is overheating so often that I can't do much testing myself without some kind of work being done. Have any of you tested these engines?

Regardless, hello to fellow enthusiasts from Portland, Oregon, USA.

--Alan
Graham Banks
Sign-up code: 0

Re: Clones?

Post by Graham Banks »

Welcome to our forum.
We will not test any engines or derivatives of engines that have anonymous authors.

Regards,
Graham.
Alan Hartley

Post by Alan Hartley »

Interesting. Now that I look I guess I don't see any particular individual claiming authorship. Admittedly this is not a good sign. . .
Alan Hartley

Post by Alan Hartley »

On second thought--isn't it Yakov Golyadkin, who says he was born Norman Schmidt? The info seems to be at http://www.cyclonechess.com/kranium.htm .

He claims to have received death threats from the "extreme right computer chess establishment." Which sounds a bit extreme. But then, lunacy and genius aren't an unheard-of combination. . .
attakinski

Post by attakinski »

Norman Schmidt is certainly enthousiastic. Not reliable or genius. It will be not the first time he claimes to have made an engine which after a while appears to be an exact copy from another engine.
Alan Hartley

Post by Alan Hartley »