New engine: Tcheran

Questions and comments related to CCRL testing study
jgilchrist
Sign-up code: 10159

New engine: Tcheran

Post by jgilchrist »

Hello! It's my first time posting here - I've been working on a chess engine recently. It's recently reached a level I'm generally happy with and I'm curious to see where it would land on the CCRL rankings (both 40/15 and 2+1).

The source code is available here: https://github.com/jgilchrist/chess-engine. It's written in Rust and is buildable with a simple 'cargo build --release' from the root. If it would be better to provide binaries please let me know and I can get some uploaded.

The bot is currently registered on Lichess and is rated ~2000 ELO across Rapid, Blitz and Bullet: https://lichess.org/@/jpg-bot

Thanks,
Jonathan
Graham Banks
Sign-up code: 0

Re: New engine: Tcheran

Post by Graham Banks »

An exe would be helpful.
We all use AVX2.
Gabor Szots

Post by Gabor Szots »

I suggest releasing various versions under 'Releases' for easier tracking and distinction.
jgilchrist

Post by jgilchrist »

I suggest releasing various versions under 'Releases' for easier tracking and distinction.
Thanks Gabor, you're right, I've been holding off on releasing v1.0 but now feels like the right time!
An exe would be helpful.
We all use AVX2.
Thanks Graham, I have uploaded a Windows binary under the v1.0 release (https://github.com/jgilchrist/chess-eng ... tag/v1.0.0), compiled with AVX2. Please let me know if you have any issues running it.
Gabor Szots

Post by Gabor Szots »

Hello Jonathan,

Your exe seems OK. However, when I try to compile the source using the latest Rust I get this error message:
Compiling engine v1.0.0 (E:\Sakk\compiles\Tcheran\chess-engine-1.0.0\engine)
error: git describe exited with status 128: fatal: not a git repository (or any parent up to mount point /)
--> engine\src/lib.rs:16:5
|
16 | git_describe!("--always", "--dirty=-modified")
| ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
|