Newbie question about building single 6-men

Endgame analysis using tablebases, EGTB generation, exchange, sharing, discussions, etc..
XenonS
Sign-up code: 10159

Newbie question about building single 6-men

Post by XenonS »

Hello,

-- Introducing myself --
I'm new on this site, so I want to shortly introduce myself. and my opinions about computer chess.
I'm a pure amateur chess player following more or less closely the development of computer chess, engine competitions and specific engine problems relating to chess since 1984. My main source of references is the german CCS (I joined in 1984-85 with interuptions) and my personal insight of working methods of chess engines. I'm not a coder, but i'm only concentrating on the results a chess engine may output. About these results, my opinion is: yes, it's interesting to make engines compete with each other, but I think they are all strong enough already to make this a significant endeavor. It would be more lucrative for the developers, instead of trying to gain some additional +50 ELO with a new version, to implement some really useful features for game analysis for the human chess player. The strongest top 50 engines have very little useful features in this regard. The exceptions are Deep Shredder (user-interactive learning positions can be stored to tell the program that a position is weak/strong/drawish); Rybka (Monte Carlo analysis); and that's it ! Simply keeping the hashtables will not get the job done for a serious analysis, because all (stupid) variations must be played to fill the hash and get the picture to the engine. I think the time of a serious human player can be better spent. So, for the developers there's still A LOT to do, not having anything to do with the pure chess strenght in ELO (for a good analysis tool, I don't care if it's top 10 rated or top 100: It's about carrying out a good analysis, or being able to work TOGETHER with the human player. The sum of the forces will be stronger than the sing