Probing example code or data structure

Endgame analysis using tablebases, EGTB generation, exchange, sharing, discussions, etc..
forsslund
Sign-up code: 10159

Probing example code or data structure

Post by forsslund »

Hi,
I'm new to interfacing with the standard EGTB files, and I have tried to find information on how they (Nalimove) actually are structured but could not find any good source on that.
What i'm actually looking for as a start is a command line interface to just probe a (one) position. Maybe that is possible through scid or crafty?
If it is proprietary, are there any other emerging open file format that has good compression that we should use?
dann corbit

Re: Probing example code or data structure

Post by dann corbit »

To use the Nalimov tablebase files, you have to get permission first.
It is also problematic as far as licence (e.g. it cannot be used in GPL projects, for example).

Miguel Ballicora's format is the wave of the future. It will be released with a licence that everyone can use. Every other format is a pest (for some reason)*.

* as far as I am concerned
IMO-YMMV
Ed Trice

Post by Ed Trice »

forsslund wrote:Hi,
I'm new to interfacing with the standard EGTB files, and I have tried to find information on how they (Nalimove) actually are structured but could not find any good source on that.
What i'm actually looking for as a start is a command line interface to just probe a (one) position. Maybe that is possible through scid or crafty?
If it is proprietary, are there any other emerging open file format that has good compression that we should use?
There are command line interface prefixes to set up a FEN position, including side to move and so on, and then query the database to get the distance to mate info (or draw).

I can look them up for you and report back.
5.0 Ghz Intel Gulftown Supercomputers
http://www.liquidnitrogenoverclocking.com
Ed Trice

Post by Ed Trice »

Ok here is what I found.